Robert C. Larson Housing Policy Leadership Awards

"With workforce and affordable housing needs worsening across the country and the federal government gridlocked on meaningful solutions, state and local leaders like this year’s ULI Larson Awards finalists are bringing admirable creativity and commitment to bear."

Stockton Williams, exceutive director, ULI Terwilliger Center for Housing

About the Award

The Robert C. Larson Housing Policy Leadership Awards, named in honor of a former ULI trustee and ULI Foundation chairman, recognize exemplary state and local policy efforts in support of affordable and workforce housing.

States and localities can undertake a broad range of policy and administrative initiatives to support housing affordability. These can take the form of regulatory or administrative changes such as higher densities and waivers of fees, or programs that provide grants or financing assistance.

The Robert C. Larson Awards recognize innovative state and local policy initiatives that support the creation and preservation of affordable and workforce housing, specifically housing affordable to households earning at or below 120 percent of area median income (AMI).

Submit an Entry

Submission Instructions

2016 Larson Award Winner

Through its Troubled Buildings Initiative, Chicago has acted aggressively to acquire and improve run-down buildings that pose a threat to communities—and instead rehabilitate vacant and abandoned structures to provide critically needed low-cost housing. Learn more.

2016 Larson Awards Finalists

The finalists for the 2016 Robert C. Larson Workforce Housing Policy Awards were:

Award Applications

No further applications are being accepted for 2016. Prior to the announcement of winners, interested parties can review the eligibility and criteria for the award and learn more about the previous winners and finalists.

2016 Schedule

  • December 2016: Applications open
  • March 6, 2017: Submission final deadline
  • June 2017: Finalists announced
  • June-September 2017: Site visits by jury representative(s)
  • October 23-26, 2017: Winners announced at an awards ceremony during the 2017 Fall Meeting in Los Angeles, CA

For additional information, please contact

2016 Finalists